You are here

ICOI Committee & Schedule

2018-2019 Meeting Schedule

September 17, 2018

October 19, 2018

November 7, 2018

December 5, 2018

January 2, 2019

February 6, 2019

March 6, 2019

April 3, 2019

May 1, 2019

June 5, 2019

July 3, 2019

August 7, 2019

September 4, 2019

The Institutional Conflict of Interest (ICOI) Committee generally meets on a monthly basis. The ICOI Committee reviews potential institutional conflicts to identify if an ICOI exists and to determine appropriate management, which may include reducing or eliminating the ICOI. In addition, the ICOI Committee acts in an advisory role for difficult conflict of interest issues.

Committee Membership

Voting Members:

  • Gilbert Omenn, Professor, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics (Chair)

  • James Penner-Hahn, Professor, Chemistry and Biophysics (Vice Chair)

  • Steven Bolling, Professor, Cardiac Surgery

  • Sarah Buss, Professor, Philosophy

  • Steven Goldstein, Professor Emeritus, Orthopaedic Surgery

  • Raymond Hutchinson, Professor, Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases, Chair, Medical School Conflict of Interest Board

  • Douglas Noll, Professor, Biomedical Engineering, Chair, University of Michigan Conflict of Interest Review Committee

  • Zhen Xu, Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering


Non-Voting Members and Staff:

  • Todd Baily, Assistant Vice President, Development and Campaign Director, Office of University Development

  • Liz Barry, Special Counsel to the President, Office of the President

  • Judy Birk, Director of the Medical School Institutional Review Board

  • Lois Brako, Assistant Vice President for Research - Regulatory and Compliance Oversight, Office of Research

  • Kelly Coveleski, COI Compliance Specialist, Office of Research

  • Jim Erickson, Senior Public Relations Representative, Michigan News

  • Daniel Garber, Project Representative, Office of Research and Sponsored Projects

  • Kara Gavin, Lead Public Relations Representative, Health System Department of Communication

  • Mike Imperiale, Associate Vice President for Research - Research Policy and Compliance, Office of Research

  • June Insco, Regulatory Manager, Medical School Office of Regulatory Affairs   

  • Tiana Korley, Associate General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel

  • Amanda McCoy, Administrative Assistant Associate, Office of Research

  • C. Ndu Ozor, Associate General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel

  • April Pepperdine, COI Manager, Office of Research 

  • Bryce Pilz, Director of Licensing, Office of Technology Transfer

  • Kelly Sexton, Associate Vice President for Research - Technology Transfer and Innovation Partnerships, Office of Technology Transfer

  • Cindy Shindledecker, Director of Health Sciences and Behavioral Sciences - Institutional Review Board, Office of Research

  • Pat Ward, Director of Regulatory Affairs, Medical School

  • Stella Wixom, Executive Director, Business Engagement Center


For questions or to report a potential institutional conflict of interest (ICOI), email sends e-mail)