You are here

UMORCOI Review Committee & Schedule

2021-2022 Meeting Schedule

  • July 19, 2021
  • August 16, 2021
  • September 20, 2021
  • October 18, 2021
  • November 15, 2021
  • December 20, 2021
  • January 17, 2022
  • February 21, 2022
  • March 21, 2022
  • April 18, 2022
  • May 16, 2022
  • June 20, 2022

UMOR COI Review Committee meetings are generally held at the North Campus Research Complex on the third Monday of each month from 1:00-2:30 PM.   UMOR COI reviews the potential conflict of interest situations of faculty and staff from the Ann Arbor (except the Medical School and Health System), Flint, and Dearborn campuses; determines if a conflict of interest exists, and approves plans to manage any conflicts of interest.

Committee Membership


  • Michael Imperiale, Microbiology and Immunology & Associate Vice President for Research, UMOR (Chair)
  • Al Franzblau, Occupational Medicine and Internal Medicine
  • Lynn Johnson, Periodontics and Oral Medicine
  • Jim Penner-Hahn, Chemistry & Biophysics
  • Nilton Renno, Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering
  • Roseanne Sension, Chemistry & Physics
  • John Foster, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences
  • Steven Skerlos, Mechanical Engineering
  • Peggy Carver, Pharmacy

Current Consultants and Staff:

  • Kristine DeBaeke, Research Security Officer, OVPR
  • April Pepperdine, COI Director, Research Ethics & Compliance 
  • Kelly Coveleski, COI Compliance Specialist Senior, Research Ethics & Compliance
  • Amanda Stall, COI Compliance Specialist Associate, Research Ethics & Compliance
  • Tyler Pelto, COI Compliance Specialist Associate, Research Ethics & Compliance
  • Kathleen O'Sullivan-Cook, COI Administrative Assistant Intermediate, Research Ethics & Compliance
  • June Insco, Regulatory Manager, Regulatory Affairs, Medical School
  • David Mulder, Associate Director, Regulatory Affairs, Medical School
  • Jacqueline Jeruss, Associate Dean for Regulatory Affairs & Chair, MEDCOI Board, Medical School
  • Jonah Lee, Compliance Project Manager, Animal Care and Use Office
  • Bryce Pilz, Executive Director of Licensing and Strategic Alliances, Innovation Partnerships
  • Joohee Kim, Associate Director of Licensing, Innovation Partnerships
  • Corey Zolondek, Director, IRB-HSBS
  • Richard Vanden Heuvel, Director, Research Development, College of Engineering
  • Sana Shakour, Associate Director, Human Research Protection Program
  • Emily Palacios, Associate General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel
  • Emily Baxter, Assistant Managing Project Representative, ORSP
  • Caitlin Jost, Project Representative, ORSP


For questions about COI policy, outside interest disclosure, COI review and management processes, email