You are here

HRPP Advisory Council

The HRPP Advisory Council provides recommendations to the U-M Institutional Official (Vice President for Research) and Deputy Institutional Official (Vice President for Research-Clinical and Human Subjects Research) with regard to HRPP policies and procedures, and identifies priority areas for improvement to enhance the effectiveness of the program.  This council may also focus on specific topics and question areas of interest and importance to the HRPP and bring the perspectives of the U-M research community to the deliberations of the Council.

The Council includes representation from a broad base of the research community.

Role Name School/College/Organization
Voting Aubree Gordon, PhD Epidemiology, School of Public Health
Jeffrey Horowitz, PhD Kinesiology
Min Hui Huang, PT, PhD Physical Therapy, College of Health Sciences, Flint
Ioulia Kovelman Psychology and Linguistics, LSA
Julie Lumeng, MD AVP for Research-Clinical Human Subjects Research (Co-Chair)
Meilan Han, MD, MS Internal Medicine, Michigan Medicine
Laura Saslow, PhD School of Nursing
Narayan Sastry, PhD Survey Research Center, ISR
Renee Shellhaas, MD, MS Pediatrics, Michigan Medicine
Robert Silbergleit, MD Emergency Medicine, Michigan Medicine
Non-voting Sana Shakour HRPP Associate Director (Co-Chair)
Judy Birk IRB Director and HRPP Associate Director
Pat Ward Directory, Regulatory Affairs, Michigan Medicine
Michael Geisser Co-Chair, IRBMED
Alan Sugar Co-Chair, IRBMED
Robertson Davenport Co-Chair, IRBMED
Thad Polk Co-Chair, IRB-HSBS
Riann Palmieri-Smith Co-Chair, IRB-HSBS



To ask a question, express concerns, or provide suggestions about human research protections at U-M, please send a message to